Plugin Install : Cart Icon need WooCommerce plugin to be installed.

Ole Miss basketball 2021-2022: It's the hope that kills - Red Cup Rebellion

Ole Miss men’s track & field punched three tickets to the national championship meet courtesy of the Rebel throwers on Day One of the 2024 NCAA East Regional on Wednesday. A handful of weather delays affected the morning and early afternoon competition, but that did little to slow down All-American sophomore Tarik Robinson-O’Hagan, who booked his return tickets to the outdoor national meet in both the hammer and shot put.

Robinson-O’Hagan was the top qualifier in the shot put early in the evening, taking the lead on his second attempt heave of 20.07m/65-10.25 as the lone competitor to break 20 meters. His qualifying performance makes him one of just two Rebel men to ever qualify in the shot put in multiple seasons alongside Derek McGuire (2006, ’09), and the first to ever do so in consecutive seasons outdoors.

He is the reigning NCAA Indoor shot put champion after a bombastic field series that made him the first underclassman to win the men’s shot put indoors since world record holder Ryan Crouser did so with Texas in 2014. A win in Eugene would make him the 23rd in NCAA history to sweep both the indoor and outdoor national titles in the men’s shot put, the first true sophomore since Auburn’s Edis Elkasevic in 2005, and at 20 years old, the youngest since Texas A&M’s Mike Stulce in 1989 (19 years old).

Several hours earlier, Robinson-O’Hagan was one of two Rebels to book passage to Oregon in the hammer alongside senior Jake Dalton. Robinson-O’Hagan only needed his first attempt of 69.33m/227-5 to punch his ticket as the No. 2 qualifier in the East, while Dalton’s second-attempt of 64.98m/213-2 hung on for 10th by competition’s end to book his first career national ticket – indoors or outdoors.

This is the first time Ole Miss has sent multiple entries to nationals in the men’s hammer, and for Robinson-O’Hagan, he is now the second Rebel to qualify in the hammer in consecutive seasons alongside current assistant coach Dempsey McGuigan (2016, ’17). As a freshman in 2023, Robinson-O’Hagan was the first in Ole Miss history to qualify in both the men’s shot put and hammer in the same season. At the national meet in Austin, Robinson-O’Hagan scored in eighth place in what ended up as the deepest men’s final in NCAA history.

Senior hurdler Ahmad Young Jr. closed in on booking his return trip to nationals as well on Wednesday, breezing through the first round of the men’s 110-meter hurdles. Young snared an automatic qualifying bid to Friday’s quarterfinal after finishing second in the fifth heat at 13.65 (+2.5), which was good for sixth overall in the qualifying round.

Ole Miss nearly had another ticket in a drama-filled men’s pole vault competition. Redshirt junior Drew O’Connor cleared his first three bars, his best being a new outdoor PR of 5.32m/17-05.50 that ties his overall career-best and gives him sole possession of fifth all-time at Ole Miss outdoors.

O’Connor was within the top-12 cutoff in a tie for eighth by the time all competitors were done at 5.32m/17-05.50, but with one vaulter still left to enter the bar was raised to 5.42m/17-09.25. O’Connor was unable to clear the near half-foot PR, and was one of four tied for the 12th and final qualifying spot – forcing a jump-off. Indiana junior Tyler Carrel was the lone vaulter in the jump-off to clear the height, winning the final qualifying spot and ending O’Connor’s season in heartbreaking fashion.

Also competing on Wednesday and concluding their 2024 seasons were: senior Marcus Dropik (20th, 1:49.00) and junior Chase Rose (DQ) in the 800-meter; redshirt sophomore Gabe Scales (21st, 3:44.48) in the 1500-meter; senior Dereck Elkins (24th, 29:59.13) and redshirt sophomore Aiden Britt (39th, 30:36.33) in the 10K; senior Miles Walden (T-32nd, 5.07m/16-07.50) and sophomore Logan Kelley (T-32nd, 5.07m/16-07.50) in the pole vault; redshirt junior Costen Campion (25th, 62.11m/203-9) and redshirt sophomore Mason Hickel (foul) in the hammer; and redshirt freshman Jake Railey (20th, 64.46m/211-6) in the javelin. Senior Cruz Gomez finished 41st in the 1500-meter at 3:48.00, but will still run for Ole Miss in the 5K coming up on Friday evening.

It’s the Rebel women’s turn on Thursday, with competition set to start at 9 a.m. CT with the hammer and running through to 8:10 p.m. CT with the 10K semifinal.

Day One National Qualifiers

Jake Dalton – Men’s Hammer

Tarik Robinson-O’Hagan – Men’s Shot Put

Tarik Robinson-O’Hagan – Men’s Hammer

Day One Quarterfinalists

Ahmad Young Jr. – Men’s 110-Meter Hurdles


Men’s 800-Meter – First Round

20. Marcus Dropik – 1:49.00

DQ Chase Rose

Men’s 1500-Meter – First Round

21. Gabe Scales – 3:44.48

41. Cruz Gomez – 3:48.00

Men’s 10K – Semifinal

24. Dereck Elkins – 29:59.13

39. Aiden Britt – 30:36.33

Men’s 110-Meter Hurdles – First Round

T6. Ahmad Young Jr. – 13.65 (+2.5) AQ

Men’s Pole Vault

T13. Drew O’Connor – 5.32m/17-05.50 – Ties Overall PR, No. 5 Ole Miss History

T32. Logan Kelley – 5.07m/16-07.50

T32. Miles Walden – 5.07m/16-07.50

Men’s Shot Put

1. Tarik Robinson-O’Hagan – 20.07m/65-10.25 – NCAA Qualifier

Men’s Hammer

2. Tarik Robinson-O’Hagan – 69.33m/227-5 – NCAA Qualifier

10. Jake Dalton – 64.98m/213-2 – NCAA Qualifier

25. Costen Campion – 62.11m/203-9

FOUL Mason Hickel

Men’s Javelin

20. Jake Railey – 64.46m/211-6

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this post

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.